powered by FreeFind

Apple iTunes


Television quintet included among this year's Press Club of Dallas "North Texas Legends" honorees

1408572743021-Jon-McCaa gJUTleU7_400x400

John McCaa, David Finfrock are among new D-FW “Legends.”

@unclebarkycom on Twitter
A quintet of longtime D-FW television mainstays are among the “North Texas Legends” being inducted by the Press Club of Dallas at next month’s Excellence in Journalism event.

Lead WFAA8 anchor John McCaa and NBC5 chief meteorologist David Finfrock got the call, as did Fox4 reporter Fil Alvarado, Texas Country Reporter founder and host Bob Phillips, and KERA13 reporter/producer Sylvia Komatsu, who now is the public television station’s executive vice president and chief content officer.

In the sixth year of the awards, they will be joined by columnists Steve Blow and Norma Adams-Wade of The Dallas Morning News; sports columnist and radio personality Randy Galloway; Mike Rhyner (co-creator of “The Ticket” sports radio station and also charter host of “The Hardline”); suspense/romance novelist Sandra Brown; public relations firm pioneer Jo Ann Holt; non-fiction author Jeff Guinn; and Dallas Voice staff writer/contributor David Webb.

All 13 inductees have confirmed their attendance at the Thursday, June 9th ceremony, which will be held from 6 to 8 p.m. at the downtown Dallas Sixth Floor Museum. Tickets ($25 for Press Club members; $30 for non-members plus a small processing fee) can be purchased right here. Food and libations are included with each admission.

(Note to readers: your friendly content provider is a first-year member of the Press Club of Dallas board and was on the four-member committee that selected this year’s honorees.)

Email comments or questions to: unclebarky@verizon.net